Spray tans: The low-down

I know a spray tan might seem daunting. Going to a salon and having to strip down to a paper thong and stand in a little tent? Yeah not the highlight of my week. . . However so many times people come out disappointed with having their spray tans done ” professionally” I know I have! So here is a lil low down with tips on what to expect, how to get exactly what you want and how to keep your tan lasting. I haven’t had a spray tan done professionally in about 6 months ( that is a long time for me!) but I defo know a thing or two about them having got them done every week last year!

When you walk in, you will have to remove your makeup and wear a paper thong, you can keep your bra on if you want but most salons ask you to remove your bra to get an even colour. You will be given a hair net and some sticky soles to put on your feet so that the bottom does not turn orange when you are standing in the tent. Next, the spray tanner ( is that a word? ) will put lotion on your ankles and elbows so the tan does not settle in these dry parts of the body.

Depending on what brand of tan is used, the tans usually go 8, 10,12, 16 I belive with eight being the lightest. In my experience, I usually have a 12 but it is not as dark as I want it to look. For reference, a 12 is about a medium shade and 8-1o are fairly light. 16 is the colour they all tell you never to get ” It is so orange” says the tanner to me when I ask about it however I have a feeling this would be the level of tan I would want so I need to try it at some point . .

You will be given lots of poses to do such as lunges so the tanner can spray all areas of the body, WARNING: the spray is so cold on the skin but it lasts 2 minutes so try to put up with it! OK here is something I learnt. The skin on the stomach doesn’t hold tan as well as the arms or legs so ask for the tanner to double spray this area. That way it will look more like the colour of your arms and legs when developed. 

If you feel like the colour looks too pale even when it is sprayed on then speak up! Tan doesn’t develop that dramatically ( again depending on what brand is used) so the colour you have when instantly sprayed isn’t gonna be totally different to when it is developed. Also if an area goes patchy within a few days, go back to the salon and they should spray you again free of charge. One time I had a massive orange line down my arm and the inner side was pure white which I didn’t realise! So I was offered a correction . .  Do not try to scrub it off as the tan will split and go patchy.

Perhaps the worst part is leaving the salon feeling sticky and self-conscious of the fact you temporarily look like a shiny orange human being. However wear all black and loose clothing and you won’t see any tan stains so you can reach your home in peace. I also suggest blotting the face with a tissue so that the colour isn’t as obvious on the face. The face should always be a little lighter than the rest of the body so it looks more natural.

Some little tips:

  1. Do not shave before your appointment! I repeat! You will be left with an orange shaving rash instead of a red one as the tan collects into the pores and trust me, it takes weeks to remove! 
  2. Try if you can to sleep in the tan overnight then wash off the next morning as washing the tan off too soon will mean it hasn’t had time to develop.
  3. If you must go out straight away after getting your tan, apply baby powder to soak up any wet areas of tan so it kind of dries the tan and means less transfer of colour on clothing.
  4. Use oil free lotions ( the cheapest variety works just as well) as oil in lotions breaks down tan super quickly. One of the best lotions for fake tanners like myself is Vaseline Aloe Vera as aloe vera is known to keep skin from drying. Ultimately fake tan fades as the skin naturally sheds the top layer of skin so applying lotion daily means you can get a few more days until the dreaded patchy tan moment commences . .
  5. Always stick to cold showers or room temp showers to ensure your fake tan lasts longer, hot water opens the pores and strips away the colour meaning a quicker fade.

I have a tanning post about my favourite tans which I will link below: Fake tan favourites I can’t live without

Let me know if you guys have ever had a dodgy tanning experience as I would love to hear! I have defo had some dodgy tanning moments in my lifetime . . .

Leave a Reply

