Beauty secrets I learnt at KIKO MILANO

Last year I worked at KIKO MILANO for 7 months and I genuinely adored my job. Not only were the staff wonderful but I learnt so many tips and tricks from the company but also the staff which I wanted to share.

  • When cleaning brushes, the quickest and easiest way to do so is by spritzing some brush cleaner into a tissue and swirling the brush around until there is barely any colour transfer from brush to the tissue. Before I would just rub the brush into a bar of soap which heavily ruined the bristles of my brushes.
  • This one isn’t really a secret as it was something staff had to do everyday but SHARPEN SHARPEN SHARPEN! Everytime you apply a pencil product always sharpen it! Not only will it give you a more clean and precise look but it gives you more control when applying the product on your face.
  • I worked with the queen of liquid eyeliner ( Sharan if you ever see this I am talking about you!) and she told me the brush of liquid eyeliner makes such a difference in terms of the ease of application. Now I only look for thin brushes which offer more precision. For me personally, chunky brushes are just harder to use.
  • Eyeshadows can make wonderful contours. KIKO has such an amazing range of shadows and the pigments are generally fairly strong therefore some taupe shades or earthy tones make effective contours. A slightly grey shadow makes a much better contour than some typical contour pallets which tend to be orangey.
  • Don’t neglect fixing spray. My colleagues would use fixing spray for every makeup look and I genuinely think it makes a difference. When I was working a long shift I would apply fixing spray in the mornings before my shift and my makeup would last up until closing. I never really used fixing spray before working at KIKO but now I can’t go without it. I do prefer the liquid setting sprays much more than the aerosol ones but that is because it adds a more dewy finish.
  • Applying lip liner before lipstick can help to make it stay put for longer as the lipstick has something to grip on to. It doesn’t have to be a lip primer specifically but just putting something before your lipstick really helps keep the colour in place.
  • Prepping skin is essential for a long-lasting look. Removing all traces of makeup before a fresh application as well as priming and applying lotion really contribute to a glowing complexion.
  • Dabbing your face with tissue after you have done your makeup gets rid of any excess such as those annoying powdery patches of blusher which collect on baby hairs.

Anyone else worked or work at KIKO?

Leave a Reply

