Beauty found in your kitchen?

We have all seen Instagram come alive with a ton of DIY makeup hacks and skin care secrets found in the kitchen, I always thought these were a little bit irrelevant but after doing some research and experimenting some tricks were actually surprising.

As well as many of the norms that are plastered of the internet, I am also going to mention some own great ways your kitchen can help your beauty regime as some of these tips I have used for years.

Lemons- My go-to when I want to remove my fake tan! Lemon juice almost dissolves any patchy tan due to its acidic nature. I apply lemon juice on to a small cloth and scrub in circular motions. It really helps to remove stubborn areas of fake tan much better than many tan removers out there and lemons are literally 30 pence!

Another obvious one with lemons is mixing with baking soda to form a paste and use to whiten teeth but truthfully I have not seen any benefit to this at all. I feel like the mixture may damage the teeth more than whiten as I certainly didn’t notice any whitening on my teeth after doing this for a month.  I guess everyone is different though so it may work better for others.

Sugar- Again an obvious one, but wonderful for any type of exfoliating especially when combined with the lemons! For example, it can be made into a scrub for lips or into an exfoliate for the body, I use one cup of sugar and one lemon to form a gritty paste when I have run out of exfoliating scrub. I think a bonus to this is that you know there are no harsh or nasty chemicals in the scrub.

Egg whites- Whisk one egg white until it is kind of foamy and paste it on to the skin for ten minutes as a mask to target pores. Hey if it is good for Kim Kardashian then . . .

Mayonnaise- Put. It. On. Your. Hair. You guys will thank me later, so nourishing for the hair and it promotes hair growth due to proteins in the egg. I try to do this once a week and I feel that it really seals split ends. I leave it on my hair for an hour then wash off with water and then shampoo.

Honey- Use the TINIEST bit to use as a facial lotion, it really gives such a glow to the skin and whilst I don’t know the science behind it my skin always looks so smooth after applying a tiny drop of honey on to my face. It is slightly sticky but it kind of seeps into the skin, I remove any excess with a warm towel.

Banana- Great for hair and for face. A mashed up banana and honey can be used to condition hair but also to put on to the face as a thick mask to promote radiance. I have never tried this but almost everyone I know swears by this so I need to jump on to the bandwagon!

Coconut oil- Can use for all! Lather it all over the body, put in your mouth as a mouthwash to whiten teeth and get rid of bacteria, use in hair to seal split ends and create glossy locks, use for lips as a lip balm and finally rub into eyelashes for conditioned lashes. Coconut oil has been so hyped up this past year for a reason, it simply delivers in many ways.

Olive oil- This is a fantastic one for cuticles as a little olive oil on cotton wool or a cotton pad nourishes the nail bed which over consistent use helps to grow strong and healthy nails. This is one of my faves. 

Cocoa Powder- Ok this one is for my fellow brunette babes, if you are running out of dry shampoo but need to refresh your hair then a small dusting of cocoa powder on to the hairline absorbs any oil temporarily. I have no idea why this trick doesn’t get more recognition because it works wonders!

Flour- Another one for people who like to fake tan, after washing off fresh tan there is always fear that there may be some colour transfer in areas such as elbows, underarms, wrists, neck and ankles so rubbing flour into these areas helps to create a barrier between your clothing and your skin meaning no stains.

Honestly some of these tricks save so much money and time, for example I can get through a ton of body scrub but I don’t wanna be paying £7 per bottle every two days! Sugar and lemon is literally under £1

Any tips you guys have for beauty straight from the kitchen?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty found in your kitchen?

Leave a Reply

